h1

Mysterious vibrations

January 23, 2009

A colleague of mine, Nick, and I were emailing back and forth today and he asked me, mid-professional conversation,

“do you ever get phantom phone vibrations? It has felt like my belt has been vibrating all day. Talk about annoying”

And I was thinking, okay, I’m not the only one who is perpetually checking their phone to see if they are missing calls, texts, emails.  I do this at work as I walk from one end of the bar to the other, convinced that my pocket is alerting me of something important.

Nick said the phantom vibe annoys him because it makes him feel like one of those d-bags that is always checking his phone.  I am one of those d-bags – and I’m not afraid to own that fact because 90% of the time, I did miss a call, a text, or an email.

So, a remedy for the situation? Turn off automatic email checking, and do it manually.  It will decrease the amount of vibration, causing you to check your phone.  Here is a list of 10 reasons why you should turn off the auto checker.  Number 8 on the list?  You look like a tool if you’re always checking your phone.

Plus, you don’t want to end up here.

So the real question that’s blowing my mind is this: am I imagining the vibe, or does my iPhone have a mind of it’s own?  Do I want so badly to be connected that my side feels phantom vibration to reassure me that I am?

My iPhone just vibrated.  11 new emails.

3 comments

  1. Well done, my good friend.


  2. Or better yet, set up a new email address strictly for the phone, and use filters on your main address to only send certain emails through.


  3. lol totally agree with this, im forever checkin my pockets!



Leave a Reply

