h1

How #journchat can change your life

January 13, 2009

Okay so last night was my first time participating, but I should have you know, #journchat is where you need to be on Monday nights.  Started by Sarah Evans, the idea of #journchat is to unite PR people, journalists and bloggers (and other communicators in general) in an engaging conversation about the industry where ideas can be shared.

Last night, before #journchat, I had around 120 followers on Twitter.  This morning, after having participated, I have 196. All of my new twitter friends are in the industry, some from my area, the rest from around the country.  I learned a lot about how journalists feel about PR pros and also made some valuable connections that could help me land a job after graduation.

Lizz Harmon, President and CEO of Harmon Tampa Public Relations is one of those contacts. I had actually started following her a month ago, and she is how I found out about #journchat. I reconnected with her last night, and I am working on arranging a time for me to pick her brain about anything and everything PR.  She’s a fellow USF alum and so is her daughter.  🙂

Now how does any of this change my life?  Twitter #journchat allows for me to connect with people I wouldn’t other wise have an opportunity to connect with.  Zappos CEO Tony Hsieh is someone I’m following now, via recommendation from Rob McNealy, in regards to my interest in PR in Vegas.

Browsing the people that follow my new contacts is also helping me build my future-employer/friend/mentor community.

Someone said last night, facebook is for people you used to know, Twitter is for people you want to know better.  How true.

So to all my followers on Twitter, sorry for flooding your Twitter feed on Mondays.  That’s the only day of the week where I’ll be posting like crazy.  Join the fun, 7-10 pm CST Monday nights at #journchat. Send your questions that you want to have answered to @PRSarahEvans in advance for a shot at getting feedback on whatever you might be wondering about.

Have you participated in #journchat?  If so, what did you think?  If not, why not?

Leave a Reply

