h1

What it means to be Brazen.

December 10, 2008

If there is one thing I have been harping on since October, is the importance of networking.  I was unaware of how important this was to my career.  And in the world of public relations, it really is all about who you know.

Case in point – when I met Penelope Trunk. I was an innocent bystander to a speech she gave at the PRSSA National Conference.  Her words were inspirational, and the way she delivered them reminded me very much of myself.  She suggested to the audience that we find a mentor, no matter if we’re young or old.  So I figured who better than Penelope herself?

A couple emails later, I learned about Brazen Careerist and what it could do for my career.

Stop here.  After a couple emails and phone calls, and no real results, I contacted Penelope and expressed my interest in speaking with her when she indeed had the time.  She emailed me back saying she’d be available until 3 a.m. so I called her.  My first meeting with Penelope was at 2:15 in the morning.  She appreciated the fact that I was persistent from the beginning and that I didn’t give up when our schedules were conflicting.

I think that’s what being Brazen is all about, going after what you want and then some.  And I wasn’t even part of the Brazen community yet.

Having read Penelope’s book, I was eager to jump into the world of blogging and really dive into social media and what it’s all about.  I had already started a blog with a couple posts for my PR Writing class, so I decided to morph that into what we see here.

With Ryan Paugh’s help, I’ve established my blog and my presence in the Brazen community.  He helped me get an idea of what I want my blog to do for me, and what I hope to accomplish through my posts.  He advised that it would take a couple months to get established and it’s going to feel like nobody’s reading, because they aren’t.  He’s about right – just under two months and I got my first blog comment yesterday (thanks Meg).

Since October, I’ve written several new posts on everything from an agency tour to how I met the soldier.  I’ve drafted my resume three times with Penelope’s help and we’re working on making it a viable sales tool. I discovered Twitter, and have been active there as well.  In the last 48 hours I’ve been flooded with a stream of followers – and for me, the flood means my total is up to 31.  That’s a lot from the two or three I had when I started.  Through all this, I hope to make some great contacts, and in a perfect world – possibly land a job because of those contacts I’ve made.

Ask me again in six months what blogging has done for me, and I’m sure it’ll be a lot of the same song and dance, with a few more comments (hopefully) and some more followers on Twitter.  Or ask me in four months in person when I’m at the Austin Hilton with the Brazen crew at SXSW. 🙂

3 comments

  1. Hi! Got here through Megan’s tweet about your site. Very informative, and I look forward to reading more. As of now, I only have one blog for everything in my life but am looking into branching off and having one essentially for all things PR…

    Hope your semester ended well and I look forward to reading more!


  2. Hi Sydney! I’m a Brazen blogger as well and found you though Meg’s tweet also 🙂 I’m excited to see another college senior blogging, since there are barely any college bloggers out there. A lot of my college friends don’t get why I spend my time blogging, and reading so many other blogs….but the people I’ve gotten to know through Brazen definitely remind me why blogging is so valuable.

    Looking forward to future posts! And I followed you on Twitter 🙂

    Nisha


  3. I was your first comment?? I feel special – and I’m doing all I can to help get more people to your site because it seriously rocks.

    This post is great – I sent you a D.M. on twitter about it, so feel free to e-mail me (if you want) whenever you have time!



Leave a Reply

