h1

Getting Started

November 6, 2008

So I wasn’t that impressed with my blog for class, and now here I am. I’ll continue to blog there for the sake of my teacher, but this is my official blog. Thank you WordPress.  Everything older than this post was imported from my old blog – so forgive me for introducing myself three different ways.  🙂

After attending National Conference for PRSSA in Detroit, I made a committment to myself to network my face off, since in this biz, it’s a lot about who you know.  I think you’ll learn more from reading my work than from me rambling about long walks on the beach and the fact that I’m a gemini.

Through this blog, I aim to improve my writing and learn as much about public relations as humanly possible.

Now that we’ve got that out of the way, on with the journey!

PINCH ME!

Today I woke up, for the first time, with beaming pride for myself and America. I can’t remember waking up and feeling that way, well – ever. Not to say that I’m not usually proud to be an American, but I woke up today and I was. Really. I sat on my bed and checked AP to make sure that there wasn’t any crazy shenanigans with the count over night. I pinched myself to make sure that I wasn’t dreaming that Obama won.

I want to intern for Obama. I want to know the ins and outs of political PR. I am hell bent on finding a way into that Administration after I graduate. The grassroots efforts of his campaign were amazing. The way they integrated social media was something I’ve never seen before. Email blasts from David Plouffe, an application on my iPhone, their mass appeal on Facebook – he was everywhere.

I was also happy to find this little gem, a tax cut calculator for what you’ll save on Obama’s plan. Between the figure displayed and his promises of $4,000 to help pay for college – if I’m eligible – I’m liking this guy already!

So, I guess it goes without saying, if you have any connections to Obama or any body on his campaign staff – I need contacts. I want to see what White House communications is all about – the releases, the press conferences… So much excitement! There was such a great energy on campus yesterday – I can only imagine what it’s like up in D.C.

One comment

  1. Hey Sydney,

    I actually stumbled across your blog on the Brazen Careerist network, where I also blog. I graduated from USF’s PR department last May, and have been a huge advocate for social media since the fall semester of my senior year. After using my blog as a massive networking tool (much like you’re doing), I landed a job at Fleishman Hillard’s public affairs firm in Washington D.C. for the summer. Now, I’m working at a social media firm in D.C. Seriously, follow your dreams. You’re doing everything right to make them come true.

    And, please, reach out to me if you have any questions! I need some more USF people up here in the Nation’s Capital.

    Best,
    Meg
    USF c/o 08



Leave a Reply

